Washington State SAF

Washington State Annual Awards

Forester of the Year

To be presented annually to a member of the Washington State Society of American Foresters selected to be recognized by his/her peers for contributing to both the profession and the public through application of his/her professional skills to the advancement of forestry in Washington State and through public service that benefits his/her community or some larger segment of society.  The selection committee is made up of the five (5) previous Foresters of the Year with their chair being the most recent recipient.

Chapter of the Year Award

To be presented to a Washington State Society Chapter which has made extraordinary achievements in membership, service to members, community service, and chapter management and participated in forest policy and legislation in the preceding year.  Chapters are required to submit achievement data for the preceding year to qualify for the award.

Washington State SAF Awards will be presented at the 2021 WSSAF Virtual Annual Meeting April 7-8, 2021.

Note: Deadline for WSSAF Awards Submittal is March 15, 2021

WSSAF Annual Awards Nomination Form (PDF)

WSSAF Annual Awards Nomination Form (Word doc)


National Awards

A complete list of national awards, including criteria, forms, and more, can be found on the national SAF website.


Presidential Field Forester Award

It is appropriate that SAF recognize those members of our profession who actively practice professional forestry in the field.  Practitioners are the true foundation of our profession. Practitioners often operate in nearly complete anonymity, yet their actions are the single most important contribution to the viability and understanding of our profession.  This is where forestry truly happens and it is important that we recognize those who perform the art and science of forestry each and every day.

There are a large number of field foresters in District 1 (Alaska, Inland Empire and Washington State SAF) who should be recognized for their talent and accomplishments.  These deserving individuals can be found in all regions of the U.S. Using SAF presidential prerogative, 11 members -- one from each of the eleven SAF districts -- will be selected by the District Board Representative to receive an outstanding field forester achievement award each year.

Presidential Field Forester Award for District 1 (Alaska, Inland Empire and Washington State SAF) will be presented at the 2021 National SAF Convention in Sacramento - Nov. 3-7 and that information should go to: Mr. Chris Schnepf - email at cschnepf@uidaho.edu.

National awards are due March 15.


Fellow Awards

The Fellow Award recognizes extraordinary contribution to forestry through 1) a strong continuing commitment through direct SAF volunteer activities; and 2) exemplary action and sustained leadership, and 3) advancement of the forestry profession in at least one of the following areas: a) application of forestry b) education c) public policy d) research or e) technology transfer. 

2019 District 1 Fellows Committee

Steve Ricketts, Member (2015-2019) and chair for 2019

Roger Burnside, Member (2016-2020)

Bill Berrigan, Member (2017-2021)

Nancy Peckman, Member (2018-2022)

Theresa Jain, Member (2019-2023)

Tom Hanson, ex-officio, District Board Member (2018-2020)


2015 Member Awards

Chapter of the Year - South Puget Sound Chapter

Forester of the Year - Loren Hiner

Past Chair Award - Joe Murray


2014 Member Awards

Chapter of the Year - Mid-Columbia Chapter 

Forester of the Year - Paula Hopkins

Golden Members - Wade Boyd, Michael Jackson, Gerald Monahan, Robert Chicken, John Helm, and Dean DeBell


2013 Member Awards

Chapter of the Year - South Puget Sound Chapter

Forester of the Year - Adrian Miller

Golden Members - James Hertel, Richard Pierson, and Robert Wiggins


2012 Member Awards

Chapter of the Year - 

Forester of the Year - Harry Bell


2011 Member Awards

2011 Outreach Award - North Olympic Chapter 

For their efforts in organizing an extremely well attended tour of biomass operations. Not only was this field tour attended by members, but also local elected officials and members of the environmental community.

2011 Chapter of the Year - North Puget Sound Chapter

Recognizing their efforts in putting on an excellent annual meeting in 2010 despite trying economic times. This award also recognizes their outreach efforts to our fellow forestry professionals in Canada, 10 of whom attended the annual meeting.

2011 Forester of the Year Award - John Walkowiak

Among his many accomplishments over the last year, John was instrumental in leading the effort to revitalize the WSSAF Foundation including a fund raising campaign that allowed the foundation to meet its financial benchmark allowing for the distribution of the Foundations first scholarship. As past Chair, John continues to be an active participant within WSSAF, always willing to help out on the Society’s efforts.